Tags

, , ,

Every day since I found out on Oct 4th, I have drawn a picture a day (with some variance being two pictures in one day, some shading on an off-day, etc.) following the theme for Drawlloween. Its origins are in Inktober, which was started by someone who promoted October as a drawing a day. At that time, it was not specifically Halloween themed.

As I type this, I am surrounded by my and my husband’s art. I have received compliments from friends who didn’t know I could draw and applause from family who are happy I’m picking up old, positive habits again.

It feels good to know that I’m doing a little thing each day that means so much to me. Taking an idea in my head and letting it spread to my hand, using my motor coordination, muscle memory, eyes, and spacial skills to create something beautiful. Art.

Augusten Burroughs once said that as a child, he wanted to become an actor. He wanted to connect with people. His dreams were crushed when he realized he was not a great actor. Instead, he became a writer through practice. He found a new way to connect with people. He still achieved his dream, but he did so by a different method. He still gets to do what he intended, just not the way he thought he would.

I can have a vision, and when I finish touching the paper with pencils, markers, and pens, I have something new. It never looks exactly as I imagined, and yet, every time I draw, it teaches me something. I still come away from the paper (on a good day) with pride and awe. I’m getting better, slowly but surely.

Many artists and writers do not have children. I’ve talked to some that do and many who do not. I marveled at this with one friend who expressed no interest in having children and said, “I think for us, our creations are our babies.” I didn’t have to expand on this–she immediately knew what I was talking about and agreed. Lots of artists do have children, and their love for their young ones is reflected in their pieces as well.

