Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Pay attention to the shirt for later.

Pay attention to the shirt for later.

Two nights ago, i.e. one night before the reunion, I ran into my friend, Mickey. You may remember Mickey from an earlier article I did where he bowed out of my film project in college and didn’t tell me until months later.

When I ran into him, he scored me a cup of cocoa, and I asked, “Are you going to the reunion?”

“Yeah,” he said. “Are you?”

“Yes,” I replied, cautiously.

Then he told me how much the ticket was, and I realized he’d a purchased pre-reunion ticket for that night. After getting over feeling annoyed, he replied, “Well, they have to let me in, right?”

I decided that Mickey was probably not going to go.

Yesterday, I went into my “I’m going to see a bunch of people from high school” panic, despite the fact that I saw them 144 weeks approximately. (That’s 36 weeks times 4 years.) When I finally started looking for outfits in our room where all our clothes are stuffed in various locations like over-sized Easter eggs, I went to Parker for help.

Parker’s day had been comprised of reading about the largest creatures in the world on wikipedia. I ran over and said, “CAN I WEAR THESE? CAN I WEAR THEM TOGETHER?!”

“Wear what makes you feel comfortable,” Parker advised.

“By that standard, I would be going to the reunion in a hoodie, the oversized stained shirt I used to dye my hair in, and sweats. I don’t think we’re going for comfort here.”

After changing my mind many times, Parker saw one of the shirts I was considering wearing and said, “No. No, no, no. Not the bunnies! Do NOT wear that shirt to your high school reunion. You will be fine if you wear anything EXCEPT THAT SHIRT.”

Whatever, I love this shirt. My fear took over, and I went for the soothing feel and look of bunnies. He was right though, and I’m glad I didn’t wear it.

That helped considerably, because then I had a jumping off point.

“I wish I knew which girls were going so I could find out what they’re wearing!” I complained. At that moment, Mickey texted me to ask how dressed up we should be. I laughed and felt better.

“What are you wearing?” I asked Parker.

“This,” Parker said. It’s the dinosaur shirt in the top pic. His sister gave it to him for Christmas last year.

“Really?” I said.

“Well, I’m changing out of my sweats into jeans.”

Text to Mickey: Dude, Parker is wearing a dinosaur t-shirt and jeans. I think a nice shirt and khakis would be good, but clearly, you don’t have to worry.

Mickey’s text: Too late, I’m already overdressed.

Parker: Soooo Mickey’s going in a tux?

Me: I don’t know, he is an actor, so it’s entirely possible.

Spoiler alert: Mickey did NOT wear a tux.

A handful of people who I didn’t know would register were there (the girl in charge said a ton of people registered YESTERDAY at the last minute).

Lonnie and I went over to get food at one point, and two popular people talked to us! It was crazy. We went back to our spot by the bar (almost everyone was crowding by the bar, it wasn’t JUST us) empowered by this.

“They talked to us!” I exclaimed.

“I KNOW!” Lonnie cried.

“Did you ever think that popular people would talk to us at our high school reunion?”

“Not in a million years,” Lonnie said. “People are being nice!”

Mostly, people talked to the people they hung out with or were good acquaintances with in high school. The venue and assorted beverages really helped us all bond. Several times Lonnie said, “This is so weird.”

“It’s surreal,” I agreed. “It’s like we’re all at some class event back in the day, except we can drink together.”

I happily discovered that my best friend from high school only has one incriminating story on me! When she told Parker, he said, “Yeah, that sounds like her. She’s awesome, that’s why I married her.”

Cue the “Awww, you got a good one!”

I also saw someone from high school that I ran into at the grocery store a few years back. I was a little freaked out, because I knew she was going to be there, so I leaned over and told all of my friends in the surrounding area why it would be weird to see her.

A few years back, Parker and I had a party at his house (before we were married, but possibly after we got engaged). Part of the way through, a few of us (including people from high school who are present in this story but were not at the reunion) walked over from the house for more beer. When she saw me and said “hi,” I got really excited and hugged her. As I was hugging her, I thought, OMG, no! No, this isn’t right! I can’t get out of it now, I’m already hugging her! She and I don’t hug! This is SO AWKWARD!

Needless to say, she did not stay long at the reunion and DID NOT come over to say hi. There were lots of hugs from everyone though, and it was in a totally acceptable fashion, probably because it had been 10 years, and everyone was drinking.

Favorite bands from high school:

  • Barenaked Ladies
  • Weezer
  • Aerosmith
  • Van Halen

Favorite movies in high school:

  • Almost Famous
  • Adaptation
  • Empire Records
  • Can’t Hardly Wait

reunionpic1BLOG

Anyway, we had a pretty great time. I tried not to have ANY expectations going into the evening since I’ve thought about it since I saw Romy & Michele when I was 12. I highly recommend to any young people out there debating upon going that you go.

UPDATE: Parker skimmed the entry and said, “I didn’t say that. I said, ‘Whatever you wear is fine, but you don’t want to wear that shirt.’ ” Apparently, what I claimed he said is just how I talk.

What about you guys? Did you go to your high school reunion? What were your favorite bands? Favorite movies? Let me know!

