Tags

, , , , , ,

So the Royals (that’s Kate and Edward’s last name, right? RIGHT!? It’s either that or Middleton) finally had their baby.

This is how our conversation at work went down.

Me: Are you following the Royals’ baby?

Gaby: Am I following…royals? I don’t get it.

Me: No, Prince William and Princess Kate’s baby.

Gaby: Oh. Uh, no.

Me: Okay, me neither. I don’t get it. It’s a baby. I mean, it’s great they’re doing well and all, but she’s a princess. Of course, she’s going to have top-notch care. I just don’t see why this is a big deal. Well, let’s see what they named him. (I’m always interested in babies’ names. Probably so I can judge them and their parents.)

(Looking at the article) Blah, blah, blah…WHAT? Why would they…Trafalgar!? Woah, that’s…the name of the square. Phew, I thought that was the baby’s name.

Gaby: That’s a relief.

Me: Yeah. THEY DON’T EVEN HAVE A NAME! (I didn’t realize this article was only half an hour old when I read it.) The baby has a title…but no name. Apparently, people are standing outside the hospital? You guys, Rafiki is not going to hold up the baby, and “The Circle of Life” is not going to play! GO HOME!

Gaby: Ha ha. No, it’s not.

Me: That would be cool though. I would care more. I hope they don’t pick a weird name though. It’s like…I mean, keeping with the Lion King theme, naming one of your kids Scar and the other Mufasa. How did they think he was going to turn out?

Gaby: Uh, no. Scar’s name isn’t Scar…he’s called that because of the scar.

Me: So, it’s a nickname? What is his name?

Gaby: Something really bizarre, but yeah, I thought his name was Scar too.

Me: Oh…I feel better then. It would be pretty shitty to name one of your kids something that sounds like a battle cry and one after a weird birthmark or injury. Wait, how do you know this?

Gaby: I looked it up.

Me: Oh, okay. That’s still shitty though. I mean, he has this permanent scar, so people call him that? Pretty rude.

Maybe Scar’s real name was Trafalgar. Maybe they SHOULD name the kid Trafalgar. Crap, I’m really starting to like that name every time I say it aloud. I’m probably mispronouncing it though.

Note: According to the novel series via wiki, Scar’s real name is Taka. Meaning “trash” or “dirt.” Also, according to the site, Scar requests that they call him that. Would I rather be called Scar or something that meant trash or dirt? I don’t know, they both sound bad. Taka is more fun to say than Scar. Maybe it’s nice he’s not Scab? Or Skidmarks? That would be a terrible nickname.

The Bloggess also summed up my feelings pretty well about the Royal birth.

