Tags

, , ,

I just finished writing a review of Game of Thrones Season 3 for The Inquisitive Loon. I’m pretty pumped, and then I saw an ad that describes our life. I normally abhor current advertising (I used to enjoy 80’s-90’s commercials and love a good VHS commercial in between a morning cartoon or after school special), but how can I hate something so true? Plus, I haven’t seen it a thousand times.

When Parker and I started dating, he knew I was hardcore into television. At the time, this basically just included Lost, but as soon as we moved thousands of miles away from immediate family and friends, suddenly tv was my best friend, my therapist, and my hobby again.

For our wedding, yes, it was on our registry, Parker’s groomsmen bought us seasons 3 and 4 of How I Met Your Mother. I owned season 1, Parker bought season 2, so at the time, we had all the seasons.

Parker got busy with work, and after a fair amount of television (not a marathon, wait, there are OTHER kinds of marathons? I have to be specific?), he was completely wiped out and wanted to take a break.

I said I wouldn’t watch ahead. But we lived an hour outside of town, and I was ridiculously bored.

A few weeks to a month or so later, Parker plopped down next to me and said, “I think I’m ready for season 3.”

“Okay…”

“This one was where we left off,” Parker announced.

“Can we not watch that one? It kind of sucks. In fact, two episodes later is really where it’s at,” I recommended.

The light bulb went on. And this happened. Sorta.

“Where are you in the series exactly?” Parker asked.

I paused. “Most of the way through season 4.”

Parker knew we’d have differences in our marriage, but he never knew he could take a break from a show and have me speed through entire seasons without him.

Now, we have a pact. I watch as many episodes of shows as I want, UNLESS Parker is hooked to the show as well. We have agreements that there are certain shows that we ONLY watch together. This means he gets pestered constantly about new episodes for shows we love. In return, date night often consists of sitting down with dinner and drinks and watching our show.

The bright side of getting hooked on a show Parker has no interest in is that I can watch it whenever I want to my heart’s content.

