Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

comeback

[Source: na-maste.tumblr.com]

There’s this game you can play with your friends called Hypertheticals. You take turns drawing cards and asking each other questions. These aren’t “Would you rather” questions although a few of them do involve those choices.

One of the questions is as follows:

“You meet the perfect person. Romantically, this person is ideal: You find them physically attractive, intellectually stimulating, consistently funny, and deeply compassionate. However, they have one quirk: This individual is obsessed with Jim Henson’s gothic puppet fantasy The Dark Crystal. Beyond watching it on DVD at least once a month, he/she peppers casual conversation with Dark Crystal references, uses Dark Crystal analogies to explain everyday events, and occasionally likes to talk intensely about the film’s ‘deeper philosophy.’

Would this be enough to stop you from marrying this individual?

I asked Parker this question before we ever owned the game when I came across it in one of my books. His response was, “Obviously not, because I AM dating you, you are this person, and I intend on marrying you. You’re just not obsessed with The Dark Crystal.”

He should have used that in his wedding vows.

taconight

[Source: lostdogs20.tumblr.com]

An example is a few weeks ago, Parker stopped in a rare moment to look at the calendar. He frowned and said, “Why does May 23rd say ‘3 years on it?'” I didn’t even have to think before responding, “Oh, that’s the 3 year anniversary of the date Lost ended. Look, I even drew a picture.”

“Uh huh. Why is it on our calendar? Wouldn’t you NOT want to remember that day?” Parker asked.

“I was on a fan site the other day, and they had both the anniversary of the date it started and ended. I figured that I would just jot it down, and maybe watch my favorite episodes.”

This is why Parker doesn’t check the calendar, I’m guessing.

More than half a decade ago, I became friends with someone who worked at a video store. This guy is kind of like the character of Matt from Take Me Home Tonight, so I’ll just refer to him as Matt. The first time I went over to his place, he showed me his room, lined floor to ceiling with bookshelves. On them were every movie and television series he owned. This took up almost all four corners of the room. I was in heaven. He also had a hallway full of them, and they were complete series too. Anything you could think of ranging from old to new.

When I asked what his favorite show of all time was, he sighed and looked uncomfortably at me saying, “I’ve got to go with Lost.”

I tried not to run away screaming, because I had a built in problem with Lost. I’d never seen it, but I hated it based on its premise and its cult-like followers. Trying to swallow my disdain but failing, I asked, “Why?”

He thought about it for a minute, then compared it to crack. I found this hard to believe, but then I’ve never tried crack. “I can’t explain it,” he shook his head. “You just have to watch it.” Despite agreeing with him on several different series, I lost respect when he said that. Due to the unbalance this created, I agreed after putting it off, to watch two to three episodes with him.

It took four episodes until I was sufficiently hooked. My friendship with Matt deteriorated quickly after that, and then I just watched the show on my own. In a few weeks, I had watched several seasons worth of hour long episodes. For years, I’ve tried to sum up the difference between fans of the show versus people who just watched it for awhile, and what I’ve come up with is this: the people who love Lost are the people who needed it most.

ourlivessuck

[Source: myfrienddave.tumblr.com]

I told my friend, Caleb, the only person I knew who liked it. His response was, “It’s so not a YOU show.” Regardless, we began watching new episodes together. We wouldn’t even include our other friends, because they hadn’t watched all the seasons. At one point, we got into an argument about having other people over on Thursday, where Caleb yelled, “NO! Are you crazy? You can’t just watch an episode this many seasons into Lost. Do you know how many questions we’d be fielding? People would talk over the WHOLE episode.”

People couldn’t stand going places with Caleb and I, because one of us would inevitably compare something to an intricate part of the show. The other would usually agree, but sometimes we would get into a mysterious discussion where we tried not to give important plot points away in case our friends changed their minds. We even watched an episode once when one of our non-Lostie friends fell asleep on the couch. He was pretty annoyed to wake up to Kate crying.

Lost Alignment Chart

Lost Alignment Chart

When Caleb and I watched new episodes live together in the beginning, we promised not to talk. The times when we didn’t watch in the same room, we would call each other during commercials and try to piece together what was happening, with one of us (usually me) inevitably saying, “I have got to go back and watch ____ episode referencing this.” Usually, it was more like three. We also served as accuracy police when one of us misremembered something that happened during an episode or precisely which season featured certain episodes.

When I started dating Parker, I resolved not to make him watch the show with me. However, when the new season came on, Parker got to witness me completely freak out every few seconds, scream, and clap my hand like an idiot seal. I was too crazy to care.

[Source: disneybound.tumblr.com]

[Source: disneybound.tumblr.com]

I am responsible for no less than five people watching. Parker had to start watching Lost or else have no idea what was going on with me or the show. He never did get into it, but he did watch almost the whole thing. He did not want to watch much (if any) of the last season though, and by that point, I felt like he shouldn’t have to, since I was the only reason he watched as much as he did.

Both Parker’s roommate, Til, and my roommate picked up the show. Til liked Locke, and Wifey, my roomie, last cited Charlie as her favorite. Parker was the only person I knew who immediately liked Sawyer, and I used to get into fights all the time about Kate, who all straight men seem to view as the devil. There are certain people who I will never trust based on their favorite characters from this show.

The night of the series finale, Parker and Til were both working. I didn’t feel comfortable or well enough (I had been fighting an infection for about a month) to go to any Lost finale parties with strangers. As it turned out, this was for the best, as I spent the entire finale, including commercials, bawling my eyes out in my bed. It was a very emotional night, and I cried myself to sleep.

Me, at the end of LOST

“Again,” Parker reiterated, “would you really want to remember the END of you favorite show? An ending that will still be known in years to come as ‘pulling a Lost?'”

Even though he’s not the only one who’s said it, I still am angry at George R.R. Martin for saying this.

I asked Parker if I left anything out, and he said, “Don’t forget to mention your shrine.” Two of the first posters I ever framed were posters made for the series that hang over our television set. I also own two bobble head dolls.

I didn’t end up watching any episodes on the 23rd, because Parker is right. I should remember the good episodes, my favorite seasons, and the memories I made with those I cared about where we spent time falling in love with a show. To this day, even the best episodes of my favorite shows cause a twinge in me like I used to feel for Lost. 

watcheslost

[Source: lostaway.tumblr.com]

Still, you can’t help smiling at the end of an era.

Reviews from me about Lost, best of and general review. Also, The Inquisitive Loon himself wrote several entries in various parts on the old blog…but he outdid me by a handful of entries (some of those are mine, but I was too lazy to filter).

Thanks to the creators/writers/directors/actors/crew of this excellent show. Thank you to Tumblr, ABC, and whoever spiced up these images and gifs. If I need to take them down, let me know.

