Tags

, , , , ,

Fact or Fiction?

Fact or Fiction?

This morning, my mom and I plopped down in the bar before I had to leave town. While there, we sat right AT the bar (best service) and ordered drinks.

It was just a few of us. My mom, myself, the bartender Eddie, and the Urban Cowboy who sat at the end of the bar. Eddie was happy, a sunshine that was not too bright for an early day but fun. Urban Cowboy was elusive. He sat at the end of the bar, donned a beige cowboy hat, and had the most beautiful handlebar mustache EVER.

Confession: Regardless of age, I am a girl who loves a handlebar mustache. I have been pushing them unsuccessfully for YEARS. That’s not going to change. Especially now.

A milestone happened while on this trip, and that was that I recognized that I was no longer a resident of Oregon, but that everyone can commiserate on the fact that I live somewhere I hate. Someplace a lot of people just don’t give a fig for.

Urban Cowboy: That place sucks! I lived in [the Southern, overpopulated, humid town] for 6 months, and I hated it.
Me: But you came back.
UC: Yes, I did. The weather suck and the people are mean.
Me: The people have been nice to me, but it’s not home. My clients have friends who have lived there, and they always come back to Oregon.
UC: Once you see the beauty of the Northwest, you never want to live anywhere else.
Me: I like your ‘stache, by the way.
UC: My what?
Me: Your mustache. I want my husband to grow one just like it.
UC: Well, thank you. It’s grayer now than it used to be.
Me: I STILL love it. Very classic.

We chatted a bit longer, and I bid both Eddie (who I called Eddie Money, and when he looked confused, I had to sing a line from “Two Tickets to Paradise” since the bar is vacation themed–fitting) and Urban Cowboy goodbye.

My mom: See ya cowboy!

When I got home, I told my friend Kelly about the man at the bar, and how he looked EXACTLY like the actor from Thank You for Smoking.

samelliott

Also The Big Lewbowski, Tombstone, Roadhouse, and Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid [sources IMDB, and Wikipedia]

Kelly: Sam Elliott? You met Sam Elliott!? He lives in the greater Oregon area.

So there you have it. The coolest people will be so interesting, you want to take a picture of them even if you don’t know they are famous. I almost did just because he seemed so cool, but he also acted aloof despite engaging in conversation, so I thought better of it.

When I called my mom to tell her, she said that he probably was relieved that we didn’t recognize him and that he got to stay below the radar. SO NO ONE STALK HIM NOW! I am serious, you guys. He’s way too cool to put up with bullshit. It’s in the eyes!

The important thing is that even before I knew who he was, he gave me motivation to move home. I thought, “If Urban Cowboy doesn’t like the South and can move back, I can too.”

I got advice from Sam Elliott today, and I told him I loved his ‘stache. What an awesome day.

[Siting of Sam Elliott mere speculation. Sources and information regarding said actor: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0000385/ http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sam_Elliott]

